Welcome to the website of
Meetings & Schedule    Location and Directions  Steering Committee


Meeting Schedule:        

2:30 - 3:00 pm Arrival, registration, speaker A/V check

3:00 – 5:30 pm five talks with 15 minute break midway

5:30 - 6:30 pm Keynote address

6:30-7:30 pm  refreshments, social hour

Dr. Holly Goodson (Notre Dame University)
hgoodson (at) nd.edu
Dr. Vladimir Gelfand (Northwestern University)
vgelfand (at) northwestern.edu

Dates for 2015-2016 meetings
April 22nd 2016    

Ahmed Athamneh (Suter Lab - Purdue University)


Modeling mechanically-induced growth cone advance reveals the importance of micrometer-scale elastic adhesion structures in rigidity sensing

Jenna Christensen (Kovar Lab - University of Chicago)


Competitive and cooperative interactions between actin binding proteins drive their sorting to different actin cytoskeleton networks

Kevin Kruse (Komarova Lab - University of Illinois at Chicago)


The role of N-cadherin signaling on endothelial barrier integrity

Patrick McCall (Gardel Lab - University of Chicago)


ADF/Cofilin drives rapid turnover to fluidize entangled F-actin solutions

Michael Winding (Gelfand Lab - Northwestern University)


Kinesin-1 based microtubule sliding is essential for Drosophila nervous system development



Julie Theriot (Stanford University)


March 18th 2016    

Jing Zheng (Northwestern University)


A story of Camsap3 in Usher syndrome 1D: Does Cadherin 23 have any role in regulating MT network

Sarah Rice (Northwestern University)


Src kinase phosphoregulation of the human mitotic kinesin, Eg5

Jian-Qiu Wu (Ohio State University)


Membrane dynamics during fission yeast cytokinesis

Trina Schroer (Johns Hopkins University)


The Dynein/Dynactin Motor: From structure to the Clinic

Annual Poster Session!!!!


4 winners will be selected to give oral presentations at the april meeting



October 16th 2015    

Elizabeth Wagner (Glotzer lab-University of Chicago)


RhoA activation is suffecient to induce cleavage furrow formation in metaphase and anaphase: an optogenetic analysis of cytokinesis

Derrick McVicker (Dent lab- University of Wisconsin Madison)


Direct transport of a kinesin/cargo pair along newly polymerized microtubules into dendritic spines undergoing synapitic plasticity

Derek Walsh (Northwestern University)


The role of microtubules in herpesvirus infection

Vivian Tang (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)


Regulation of alpha-actinin and actin assmbly at cell adhesive contacts by actomyosin contractility

Clare Waterman (National Institutes of Health)


A novel actin-adhesion strucutre requiring the formin FMN2 positions the nucleus and protects it from mechanically induced DNA damage
September 25th 2015    

Tina Tootle (The University of Iowa)


Fascin regulates nuclear actin during Drosophila oogenesis

Jenifer Prosperi (IU School of Medicine - South Bend)


Regulation of APC-mediated epithelial dynamics

Gant Luxton (University of Minnesota)


Dystonia and Defective Nuclear-Cytoskeletal Coupling

Ted Hinchcliffe (University of Minnesota)


A fail-safe device that monitors inadvertent aneuploidy caused by chromosome missegregation during mitosis

Sergey Troyanovsky (Northwestern University)


Actin-dependent mechanisms of adherens junction assembly and dynamics

Mark Rasenick (University of Illinois - Chicago)


G protein signaling and the microtubule cytoskeleton